This summer I’m going to try to get the blog back up and running.  Or, I should say initially up and running.   I’m hoping to make the blog about all things wine: things I’ve learned, myths I can debunk, and just cool places to go or wines to try.

I thought I’d start the summer with a new lesson I learned last weekend: the detriment of overly cleaned dishcloths.

I’ve known how terrible wine can be if even the slightest residue of soap remains in the glass ever since I was a harvest intern.  The winemaker and cellar master had invited me to participate in a tasting to come up with descriptors for the club tasting notes.  As they raved about one of the wine and filled the small kitchen with superlatives, I clammed up, wondering whether I should even be in this business as I sipped what I thought was a horrible wine.  Turned out, my glass simply hadn’t been rinsed well enough.   Ever since then I’ve been a stickler, some might say a bit of an ass, about making sure my glasses were rinsed heavily and no trace of soap would ever taint my wine.

I’ve had occasion to call out my father-in-law about this, to the point that he never uses soap on his glasses and always washes them by hand.   And I still give him a hard time.  Then, this weekend, I found out why I was wrong.   While hand cleaning glasses at a wine pouring, several people turned up their noses at my wine.  I was embarrassed.   I kept checking the bottle to see if it was corked, but no, they must just have bad taste.   When it continued to happen, I grabbed another glass and sipped.  I recognized the taste immediately; soap.  I rinsed again.  All clear.  I don’t know how many times it took before I realized the problem.   The dish towels that I was drying the glasses with were so  heavily perfumed by the laundry soap, that it was rubbing off on the inside of the glass, ruining the wine.   It’s a simply thing, but a new one for me.    Now before I dry, I check the towel.  If it smells like perfumed laundry, don’t use it to dry a wine glass.   I think I’ll be buying perfume free detergent from now on.

 

